Two Wheels By The Danube

.

A message from Lewis writer and poet Kevin MacNeil

.

A chairdean choir,

As you may know, I am cycling 1400km of the Danube in September / October to raise money for two charities, Cancer Research and Macmillan Cancer Support. The route will take me from the Danube’s source at a little spring in the Black Forest through Bavaria, Germany, into Austria, then Slovakia, then into Budapest, Hungary. To make things more ‘interesting’ (challenging!) I am doing the entire route on a track bike, ie a bike without changeable gears. (It’s a Revolution Track Bike courtesy of Edinburgh Bicycle Co-op, 48t chainring and 16t sprocket, bike fans.) I anticipate the trip will take between 2 and 3 weeks.

If you would like to sponsor me on this endeavour, please visit one of my two fundraising pages. One is for those who would like to donate to Cancer Research

http://www.justgiving.com/KevinMacNeil

and the other is for those who wish to donate to Macmillan Cancer Support

http://www.justgiving.com/KevinMacNeil2

…Of course, there is nothing to stop you from donating a little to each charity if that’s what you’d prefer.

I’ve been training hard for this for many months now, sacrificing a great deal of time, effort, energy and sweat (I won’t even mention the saddle sores!) The biggest challenge is ahead of me, but I’m very much looking forward to doing something for the greater good. I hope you’ll give what you can.

Please feel free to pass this information to anyone who may be interested. The more money raised, that bit better the world :-)

Thank you so much.

Kevin
x

http://www.kevinmacneil.com/

Leave a Reply

