Anti-Social

OTCFINALLOGO

WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Spotify…I seem to be everywhere and nowhere online and all at once and it’s been getting really difficult to keep track and on top of all the updates and connections needed to stay this “social”.

I’d been thinking that the blog here has sort of lost its momentum a bit, since moving back the impetus for the blog’s original purpose, namely researching and finding my roots and routes home to these islands has been lost somewhat. Instead of being a resource for exposing the islands music, art, culture and history to those who might also be interested, it’s in danger of becoming one of those island blogs where your day to day life gets written about and snapped and put out there for all to see…not really what I want or had intended for it. I’m also blogging about Harris tweed stuff over at www.harristweed.org/blog so even keeping this blog busy with tweed stuff would be just plain ol’ repetition.

So what to do?

Well basically I’ve picked a format, namely a Facebook page at www.facebook.com/OffTheCroft that will have a nice and simple, short and sweet, feed of goings on from life here on the croft and will be focussing my attention there from now on.

If you’d like to keep track of The Croft going forward then that’s the place to go, simply “like” it if so. If not feel free to keep checking back here to see if anything more heavyweight crops up. You never know…

Either way, thanks as always for reading!

PS You can always reach me via email at mike.thecroft@me.com

8 thoughts on “Anti-Social

  1. Mike, I’m with you on shifting to FB. I made this change for Shirlaws Cayman a while ago, feels easy to be connected, to share ideas, pictures, thoughts of others.

  2. Everything is there now, interaction and feedback much more effective, it just feels much more…personal. I’ll perhaps miss the space to write a little more creatively but succinctness in that aspect of my ramblings can be a good thing!

  3. Oh god, does that mean I’ll have to join Facebook? I’ve managed to avoid it so far and have never been keen due to the fact that everybody else on the planet is on Facebook. Anti-Social indeed!

  4. Have always enjoyed your posts, whether on tweed, island culture or daily life on the island… but totally get what you mean. I’m not on FB but will check in when I think of it.

    Happy days!

  5. Sorry to hear that you are going with Facebook. I do not like it. I’d rather read a nice blog occasionally than all the dribble on FB. Good luck and Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

