Tags

,

 

A consortium of local Stornoway butchers has met with officials from the Western Isles Council and Highlands & Islands Enterprise (HIE) to begin the campaign to seek special European Protected Status.

Alyn Smith MEP has already advised a number of Scots producers on how to achieve EU status and has pledged his support for the campaign. He has produced a “how to” guide and urges other quality producers to think about taking the same route.

Smith said:

“I’m delighted to see the butchers of Stornoway organising themselves, and I fully support their efforts to achieve EU status. I have been in touch with Charles McLeod Butchers of Stornoway who were only too happy to receive my support and I look forward to working with them.

Stornoway Black Pudding is a distinct and unique product which graces the menus of some of Europe’s most sought after restaurants. It makes perfect sense that such a unique product be given protected status from Europe in order to protect its growing reputation.

This will not be an easy process and may take some time, but I am happy to be of any assistance I can be to the local butchers of Stornoway to ensure that their Stornoway Black Pudding gets the recognition it deserves and remains firmly on the menu.”

 

You can read a good article on why the humble Marag Dubh requires protection in this Sunday Herald article published recently.