(Switch to 720p for best viewing)

English Translation.
Words by Ruth Morrison, daughter of Fisherman David Morrison.

“My name is Ruth and I was born and raised on the Island of Scalpay off Harris when the fishing industry was a large part of the island life.

My father is a fisherman which he has been from an early age. From my early memories I can remember many boats heading off early to get their daily catch, and my uncles gang were out for many days at a time.

Times have changed now, their are only a few boats going out with the same fishermen on board. The younger generation doesn’t choose this way of life anymore as it is hard and times are changing. Each year the amount of boats going out to sea is falling, which will soon leave only a handful and probably going only for pleasure, rather than a way of a living.”

www.johanhallbergcampbell.com