Pàdraig MacAoidh is a writer, academic, broadcaster and native Gaelic speaker from the Isle of Lewis.

He has worked at the Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry, at Trinity College, Dublin, and for BBC Alba, recently wrote an critical study of Sorley MacLean and is currently the Sgrìobhadair at Sabhal Mòr Ostaig.

 

Logorrhoea

Bu tu gaol òir m’ òige

do ghàire ghaoil mar fhir-chlis

an geamhradh gorm Leòdhais

mo ghaol, mo rìbhin òg.

 

Nan robh mi nam fhear-iomchair

‘s chan e fear-bholg, fear-cuideachd,

bhithinn air tairsginn gaol maireannach

an àite logorrhoea

 

agus a-nis tha mo ghaol aig tèile

mar bu chòir ‘s mar bu dual,

ged a tha do sholais nam speuran

a’ lainnireadh thar a’ chaoil.

 

Logorrhoea

You were the gold love of my youth

your laugh love like the northern lights

in the blue Lewis winter

my love, my young love.

 

If I was a bearer,

not a waster and follower,

I’d have given you lasting love

in place of logorrhoea.

 

Now my love’s another’s

as is right, as should be

though your lights are in my skies

glittering across the kyle.

 

(Reproduced with kind permission of Pàdraig MacAoidh. Further work available via From Another Island – Clutag Press + thanks to Kevin.)